Urban Diary

An English garden-scented recipe

Mario López-Goicoechea
1 min readMay 20, 2022

--

They’re behind you! The elderflowers are behind you! (photo by author)

Between ten and fifteen elderflower heads, zest of a lemon, sugar, and of course, vodka.” It’s not the first time my girlfriend’s been stopped by strangers when they see us collecting elderflowers. This time it’s a couple of smiling women, out on a stroll on a warm spring afternoon in the Woodberry Wetlands Nature Reserve.

Funny that although both my other half and I live very close to this wildlife-rich, reed-fringed, natural beauty, we’ve never been here together before. Just a few weeks ago, I was on the other side of the pond with a group of children cycling back to their school.

I still remember the puzzled looks on their faces when I declared, staring at the trees ahead: “Elderflower time’s here!

Cuban, Immigrant, and Londoner, on sale now.

You can buy me a coffee here.

--

--