Diary of a Separation (London, a song-free city)

Mario López-Goicoechea
2 min readOct 7, 2019

Saturday 25th August 2018

People don’t sing in London. I mean, spontaneous, on-the-spot singing. Yes, we have buskers and God-worshipping, corner-invading street preachers who break into religiously-driven ditties. But the art of humming a melody without caring what one’s voice will sound like is non-existent in such a big metropolis.

Wednesday 29th August 2018

I’ve come to realise that there’s a big contradiction within me; I seek solitude during my waking hours, yet, I crave a woman’s warm, naked body next to mine when sleeping.

How do we keep the gaps in diary entries in modern life empty when we are always trying to fill them up with our various gadgets?

Saturday 1st September 2018

Start-struck doesn’t even begin to describe how I felt today when I attended a talk between Miranda Sawyer and Michael Stipe at the ICA. Doubly star-struck, I should say. I love Miranda as much as I love R.E.M. Michael was in town to promote…

--

--