Diary of a Separation

The TALK with my landlord, dating again and a birthday celebration

Mario López-Goicoechea
2 min readJun 11, 2020

--

Autumn, a time for new beginnings (photo taken by the author)

Monday 29th October 2018

I had the TALK with J last Saturday. I’d always been under the impression that the lounge was a communal area. J spends hours playing games on his console in it, which means I have to retire to my room to do everything (I can’t speak for Al. I don’t know if he likes being in his room the whole time).

Space, in adult life, becomes an issue. The less you have, the more frustrated you feel. A 12ftx12ft room is not just a place to inhabit, but it can also be a metaphor for failure.

The matter remained, let’s say for the sake of appearances, unresolved.

Saturday 17th November 2018

I signed up to Guardian Soulmates. After much deliberation (only with myself, mind), I realised that I was ready to date again. Date with a view to establish a partnership with the right person. Whilst that previous sentence sounds pretty formal and almost Westminsterish (as if uttered by one of Evan Davis’s political guests on Radio 4’s PM), my feelings are anything but. Maybe it’s autumn, the season to cuddle up with a loved one.

I had my birthday celebration last night at Jam in a Jar, perhaps, one of the best venues in north London at the moment. It was so good to see friends, real friends. Not the FB variety (nothing wrong with those, though), but people of flesh and bone. We laughed, ate, told stories and danced.

--

--