Diary of a Separation (Balance or Adventure?)

Can we have everything in a relationship? Or at least, almost everything?

Mario López-Goicoechea
2 min readApr 25, 2021

--

Love for all, with all the accoutrement. Photo by the author

Tuesday 21st May 2019

One of the mind-boggling elements that define a relationship is the eternal contradiction between the consistency and stability we strive towards as a couple and the unpredictability and mystery we lust after. It’s ironic that on the one hand we dream of a safety net in our union and on the other hand we fantasise about diving into the deep unknown with just a snorkel and flippers.

Whilst cohabitation is not on the cards at the moment, I wonder if I would reconsider the idea, should the right woman come along. The rational part inside me feels secure in the knowledge that I can provide stability and intimacy in a relationship. The id-driven side is less convinced and wants to hold on to its satisfaction-governed relative freedom for the time being. I still want to be part of a monogamous set-up but I also want a space I can withdraw to without killing the vibe in my relationship.

Saturday 25th May 2019

One of London’s main attractions is its music scene. I’d already seen the Noga Ritter Quintet at Jam in the Jar last summer. Tonight I saw her again at Ninety Living Room, one of my usual hangouts.

--

--